Sunday, October 18, 2009

Hotteterre - La flute du Roy - Form, Ruso, Costoyas, Boerner

Hotteterre - La flute du Roy - Form, Ruso, Costoyas, Boerner
Flute | Eac, flac, cue | log, cover | 1 CD, 382 MB
2004 | Raumklang | RapidShare

In this CD the German record-label Raum Klang provides us with an excellent sample of music by trio Hotteterre (1673-1763): three suites, two sonatas, and two preludes, in addition to a piece by Michel Lambert (1610-1696) included in Airs et Brunettes (1721), a passacaglia for harpsichord by Jean-Henry d’Anglebert (1635-1691) and some works of unknown authorship. This is very beautiful and carefully written music performed in a magisterial fashion by the flautist Michael Form, whose refined reading of the works results in exquisite phrasing and tone, qualities that enhance the sense of extraordinary refinement. The members of the continuo maintain the performance level, with Rusó on the viola da gamba bringing considerable character and a healthy helping of vivacity and energy to the ensemble. On the theorbo Costoyas adds structural depth to the whole, taking on the role of harpsichord during the most intimate moments, and at other times complementing it so as to fill out the required texture. In this respect the role of Dirk Börner on keyboard is certainly impressive, his mastery in the bass is astonishing with a clear and at the same time subtle articulation that sounds magnificent. His intense and expressive performance of the Passacaglia by d’Anglebert demonstrates his extraordinary mastery of the style. The accompanying booklet has an informative commentary from Michael Form, and to many people this splendid CD should come as a pleasant surprise.--JAUME OTERO

Jacques Martin Hotteterre (1673-1763) not only was a noted flute player and composer, but he also authored detailed fingering charts for both flute and recorder and invaluable treatises on performance practice. His music for the instrument shows substantial stylistic refinement, prodigious understanding of the instrument's technical possibilities, and a rare gift for melodic invention, all of which must be executed by a performer well-versed in Hotteterre's carefully notated and/or implied ornamentation. Form and his colleagues know this music's every turn and understand how to integrate ornaments into the flow of the phrases by means of appropriate tempos and by allowing lines to "breathe" naturally. There are many highlights here, especially the many-faceted, tuneful, dark-colored Deuxiéme Suite and the beautiful solo De mes Supires de ma langueur, but it's safe to say that whether or not you care about baroque flute (or recorder) music, this program and these performances rank among the best in the genre, as close to perfection as we probably can expect from this most untamable of instruments (well, that's not to mention the lute...).

Track listing

1. 1. Allemande: La Cascade de St. Cloud
2. 2. Sarabande: La Guimon
3. 3. Courante: L'inddiferente - Double
4. 4. Rondeau: Le plaintif
5. 5. Menuet: Le mignon
6. 6. Gigue: L'Italienne
7. 1. Prelude: Gravement
8. 2. Fugue: Gay
9. 3. Grave
10. Vivement, et croches égales
11. Prelude
12. Rochers, vous êtes sourd
13. Pasacaille
14. 1. Prelude: Lentement-Vivement
15. 2. Allemande: Tendrement
16. 3. Sarabande
17. 4. Menuet 1
18. 5. Menuet
19. 6. Gavotte: Tendrement
20. 7. Rondeau
21. 8. Gigue
22. Prelude
23. Des mes Supires de ma langueur
24. 1. Prelude: Lentement
25. 2. Allemande: La Fonainebleau
26. 3. Sarabande: La Depart
27. 4. Rondeau: Le lutin
28. 5. Air: Le fleury
29. 6. Gavotte: La mitilde
30. 7. Branle de Village: L'auteuil
31. 8. Menuet 1 & 2: Le Beaulieu
32. 1. Prelude: Lentement
33. 2. Fugue: (Gay) - Grave
34. 3. Vivement

Read more



Related Posts with Thumbnails