Saturday, October 9, 2010

Johann Sebastian Bach - Cello Suites - Alexander Rudin






  • Release Date: July 16, 2002
  • Label: Naxos
  • Number of discs: 2
  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Performer: Alexander Rudin 
  • cd info/ buy

Many fine, reasonably priced recordings of Bach's Unaccompanied Cello Suites  are on the market, including Alexander Rudin's on Naxos: a significant improvement over the label's earlier released cycle with Csaba Onczay. In quicker movements like the Courantes and Gigues, RudinAlexander Rudin keeps the music's uplifting dance qualities in the foreground and fortifies the fluidity of his Preludes and Sarabandes by drawing lush, eloquent sonorities from his 1740 Montagnan cello (tuned, like Anner Bylsma's and Yo-Yo Ma's remakes, a half step down from "modern" standard pitch). His unself-regarding and effective transcription of the famous D Minor Violin Chaconne provides generous filler. Rudin's playing is so good that when he occasionally scrapes his bow or just misses a note's intonational mark, you notice it.--Jed Distler



ape, covers


  1. Thanks for this, Otto. My preferred recording of Bach's cello suites remains the one of Phoebe Carrai, I heard several times extracts on your webradio. The cello sound here is absolutely fabulous. Would be nice if you can upload that version as well.

  2. Dear carbozie, once it plays on the radio I only keep a 192kbps back-up file. I dont keep this version in lossless anymore...

  3. Thanks for you reply, Otto. Anyway there is still a lot of interesting stuff to explore on your blog.

  4. Heard a lot of performances, and the winner is:

  5. Thank you very much for this album, but part4 is falling. Can you re-upload?



Related Posts with Thumbnails