Thursday, September 23, 2010

Bach JS - Musical Offering, Trio Sonata - Belder, Ensemble Amphion


The Musical Offering (German title Musikalisches Opfer or Das Musikalische Opfer), BWV 1079, is a collection of canons and fugues and other pieces of music by Johann Sebastian Bach, all based on a single musical theme given to him by Frederick II of Prussia (Frederick the Great), to whom they are dedicated. The Ricercar a 6, a six-voice fugue which is the highpoint of the entire work, was put forward by the musicologist Charles Rosen as the best and most significant piano composition of the past millennium. It is also sometimes called the “Prussian Fugue”.

The King’s Theme


Musica Amphion, founded by harpsichordist/recorder player Pieter-Jan Belder, focuses on the performance of 17th and 18th century orchestral- and chamber music on original instruments. The concert-master is Rémy Baudet who holds a similar post with the Orchestra of the 18th Century (Frans Brüggen).

The musicians of Musica Amphion are all members of important baroque orchestras of the moment such as the Orchestra of the 18th Century, Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra, the Nederlandse Bachvereniging, Les Musiciens du Louvre and The Academy of Ancient Music. Most of them enjoy successful solo careers as well.

flac, scans

1 comment:


Related Posts with Thumbnails